Campbeltown is one of six distinct malt whisky producing regions and is home to the Campbeltown single malts of which only three, Springbank, Glengyle and Glen Scotia, are still produced.

At one point Campbeltown had over 30 distilleries and proclaimed itself “the whisky capital of the world”. However, most of the Campbeltown distilleries went out of business after a focus on quantity rather than quality and the combination of prohibition and the Great Depression in the United States.

Glen ScotiaGlengyleSpringbank

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *